Skip to main content

Catalogs: Find Books & Media

Finding Books Using Library Catalogs

As a Monmouth College patron, you have access to three tiers of library catalogs. 

Step 1: Hewes Library Catalog

  • Locate books, DVDs, media, software, music recordings, and other AV items
  • Catalog does NOT contain articles
  • Items are immediately available to you
  • Advanced search available

 

Step 2: I-Share Catalog

  • I-Share FAQ
  • Borrow books from other libraries in Illinois.
  • Materials arrive in 3-5 days
  • Create a library account (see instructions on this page)
  • Once you register, remember to check your library account! The transactions you make with I-Share libraries are not monitored by Hewes Library.

 

Step 3: WorldCat

  • A larger, international library catalog, WorldCat, allows identification of materials beyond the Hewes Library and the I-Share Catalog. (Be sure to check these catalogs first.)
  • Materials identified in WorldCat should be requested using ILLiad.  Learn more about ILLiad.
  • Items may take 7-14 days to arrive. 

Additional Catalogs

CARLI eBook Collection: The CARLI eBook Collection consists of 29,000+ titles available instantly to patrons.  The collection is funded by the Consortium of Academic & Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI), of which Hewes Library is a governing member.  MC patrons will find the ebook records in both the Hewes Library Catalog and the I-Share Catalog.  MC users will be prompted to authenticate using your MC network username/password the first time an EBL eBook record is selected. 

Center for Research Libraries: CRL, located in Chicago, has over five million volumes in its collection and will make extended loans of materials for research projects (4 month loan periods and generous renewals). CRL is a cooperative venture of over 200 U.S. & Canadian college and university libraries to acquire expensive and unique collections for faculty and student research. Foreign language books, journals and newspapers make up a significant percentage of the collection. CRL owns over 800,000 foreign dissertations. Much of the collection is represented in WorldCat, but not all. 

Warren County Public Library: materials from the public library in Monmouth and its three branch locations.

Questions? Ask Us

Phone: (309) 457-2190, (309) 457-2301

reference@monmouthcollege.edu

Catalog Search Tips

  • Keyword Search, default, searches all words in all fields.
  • Advanced Search is located below the main search box and allows more complex searches and multiple filters.
  • For a more specific search, choose Title, Author or Subject.
  • A Subject search focuses on just the Topic (or Subject) field. 

  • On the results screen, Narrow Your Search facets allow limits by format, collection, topic and more.

‚Äč

 

Create a Library Account

Instructions

  • Visit the Create New Account page on the Login Screen of the Hewes Library Catalog (pdf instructions below)
  • Enter your personal information:
    • First Name
    • Last Name
    • Monmouth College Email Address
    • Desired Username: We recommend using your Monmouth College Network ID.
    • Password: We recommend using your Monmouth College Network Password.
    • Borrower ID: This is your 7-digit barcode number located on your Monmouth College ID Card
    • Last Name on your Library Account
    • I-Share Library that you are affiliated with: Monmouth College

create library account screen

Hewes Library at Monmouth College | 700 East Broadway, Monmouth, IL 61462 | Phone: 309-457-2190 | Fax: 309-457-2226 | http://library.monmouthcollege.edu | reference@monmouthcollege.edu