Skip to main content

Databases by Subject

Search Databases by Subject Area

Not sure where to begin your research?  View the databases by subject to concentrate on a particular research area.

Arts & Humanities

Biography

Business & Economics

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Education

General Research

Government & Political Science

Life Sciences, including Sport & Physical Education

News (Current & Historical)

Physical Sciences

Social Sciences

Statistical Information

What is a database?

A database is a collection of citations, indexes, and/or full text for articles that originally appeared in journals, magazines, or newspapers.

Databases differ from catalogs. A catalog indexes books, DVDs, AV materials, music, and more so you can locate a record and then locate the item. Catalogs do not have full text articles.

Database Access Off Campus

All of the databases provided by Hewes Library can be accessed from off campus.  To do so, follow these directions:

  • Select the database you wish to access from the Hewes Library website.
  • You will be prompted by a Monmouth College login screen.
  • Enter your MC network username and password.
  • Once logged in, use the resource as if you were on campus.

Questions? Contact Hewes Library

general contact 309-457-2190 Email a librarian: reference@monmouthcollege.edu Call a librarian: 309-457-2301
Hewes Library at Monmouth College | 700 East Broadway, Monmouth, IL 61462 | Phone: 309-457-2190 | Fax: 309-457-2226 | http://library.monmouthcollege.edu | reference@monmouthcollege.edu