Skip to main content

Len G. Everett Galleries

Len G. Everett Galleries

gallery 203In addition to its print and online collections, Hewes Library is also home to unique and ever-changing art displays and exhibitions. Len G. Everett Galleries, located on the Upper Level, consist of two galleries, clearly visible from the stairs and the elevator.

In Gallery 203, Monmouth College is the proud caretaker of a distinguished collection of art and antiquities. Our Permanent Collection includes bequests of works of antiquity from the personal collection of James Christie Shields (Class of 1949), traditional woodblock prints from Takashi Komatsu (Class of 1910), works of printmaking from the Carnegie Print Collection, contemporary Japanese prints and paintings from Dorothy and James Schramm, and artwork primarily of the Pacific from W. Stewart Riley (Class of 1945). Selected works from the Permanent Collection are put on display in Gallery 203 as well as in several display cases throughout Hewes Library.

Gallery 204 is the larger of the two galleries, making it an appropriate site for the parade of varied and far-ranging exhibitions that visit it throughout the academic year. It showcases not only student artwork, but also exhibitions of regional and national artists. 

Gallery 203: The Permanent Collection

Included here are a sampling of the many treasures displayed in Hewes Library, Gallery 203.

"Athletes Wrestling"

Greek Italy (Magnum Grecae)
5th Century, BCE
Marble relief

“A pedestal from a monument or a decoration from a building, this relief shows wrestlers in three different positions as well as two warriors, one in a chariot and one on horseback.  The figures are primitive—archaic or early classical.  Because it came from a Roman dealer, it probably came from Greater Greece in Italy (Magnum Grecae).”

From the personal notes of James Christie Shields, MC Class of 1949, from whose collection this work comes.

Ushabti

Ushabti are Egyptian funerary figurines intended to act as servants or minions in the afterlife for the deceased. Oftentimes they were depicted as farm laborers with a hoe and bushel. Along with scarabs, these are the most common Egyptian artifacts found in collections.

Scarabs

In ancient Egyptian religion, the sun god Ra is seen to roll across the sky each day, transforming bodies and souls. Beetles of the carabaeidae family (dung beetle) roll dung into a ball as food and as a brood chamber in which to lay eggs; this way, the larvae hatch and are immediately surrounded by food. For these reasons the scarab was seen as a symbol of this heavenly cycle and of the idea of rebirth or regeneration. The Egyptian god Khepri, Ra as the rising sun, was often depicted as a scarab beetle or as a scarab beetle-headed man. The ancient Egyptians believed that Khepri renewed the sun every day before rolling it above the horizon, then carried it through the other world after sunset, only to renew it, again, the next day. Scarabs are found in many Egyptian tombs, both royal and common.  


On display on the Upper Level of Hewes Library:

“Greek Marble Figurines” is an exhibit of works from the James Christie Shields Collection of selected marble figurines from Classical and Hellenistic Greece.


On display on the Main floor of Hewes Library:

“Ceramics, Exquisite and Utilitarian.”  

Monmouth College is so fortunate to have a comprehensive collection of ceramics from around the world.  On display here are three exquisite ceramic bowls from Persia from the James Christie Shields Collection, and two large utilitarian pots, from the Stewart Riley Collection.

Gallery 204

Exhibitions 2016-2017

Method & Memory
Eliza Au, Stephanie J. Baugh, and Jessica Bingham ‘12
August 18 – September 16, 2016
Reception: August 26th 3:00-4:30, Gallery Talk: 3:30
 
Experimentation
Brian Baugh
September 30 – October 28, 2016
Reception: October 21st 3:00-4:30, Gallery Talk: 3:30
 
Juried Student Art Exhibition
Juror: Cheryl Meeker
November 9 – December 4, 2016
Reception: November 11th 3:00-4:30, Gallery Talk & Awards: 3:30
 
Affinity – Ceramic Work by Natalie & Ian Shelly
January 20 – February 10, 2017
Reception: February 10th 3:00-4:30, Gallery Talk: 3:30
 
Los Ambulantes Vendadores Project
Robert Bubp
February 17 – March 24, 2017
Reception: February 17th 3:00-4:30, Gallery Talk: 3:30
 
Senior Art Exhibitions
"Fuerza en Tres" [Strength in Three] featuring Gabbie General, Rubi Nogueron, and Kallie DiTusa
April 1 – 22, 2017
Reception: Saturday, April 1st 3:00-5:00pm  


"A+ Senior Exhibition" featuring Emma Gawron, Anita T. Herrera, Krista Foiles, Kendall S. Thompson
April 24 – May 6, 2017
Reception: Saturday, April 29th 3:00-5:00pm

Questions?

Mary Phillips serves as the Curator of College Art Collections. Inquiries regarding the permanent college collections in Gallery 203 should be directed to her at (309) 457-2225 or phillips@monmouthcollege.edu.

All other inquiries concerning Gallery 204 and its exhibitions should be directed to the Monmouth College Art Department at 309-457-2206.
Hewes Library at Monmouth College | 700 East Broadway, Monmouth, IL 61462 | Phone: 309-457-2190 | Fax: 309-457-2226 | http://library.monmouthcollege.edu | reference@monmouthcollege.edu