Skip to main content

2c. Find Articles

Print Periodicals

The Library subscribes to over 230 print magazine, journal and newspaper titles.

The most recent issues can be found on display in the magazine area of Library. Recent back issues can be found in the same location behind the current issue (lift the shelf). Older issues are located on the lower level in the Bound Periodicals section.

Journal Locator

Use the Journals A - Z Periodicals List to find journals, magazines, or newspapers that are available through Hewes Library in either electronic or print format.

Interlibrary Loan

If you come across a book you need for your research, and the Library does not own it, request it through our Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) service.

Interlibrary Loan requests can take up to 2 weeks to process, but is completely free.

Choosing a Database

Article databases provide you with 24-7 access to magazine, journal and newspaper articles via the Internet. To help you identify the most appropriate database for your topic/subject:

  • consult the database descriptions on the Library's Databases by Subject page
  • check to see if there is a research guide that covers your subject area or topic.

Article Formats

Depending on the database you are using, articles may be displayed in different formats:

  • Index: Includes only the article’s citation information (e.g. author, title, date, volume, etc.). Neither a summary, nor the full-text of the article are available.
  • Abstract: Includes the article’s citation information and a brief summary of the article's content. Abstracts do not include the full-text article.
  • Full-text: Includes an electronic copy of the actual article. Depending on the database, the article may be available in HTML format, .pdf format (displays the article as it originally appeared in the magazine with graphics and pictures), or both.

Database Access Off Campus

All of the databases provided by Hewes Library can be accessed from off campus.  To do so, follow these directions:

  • Select the database you wish to access from the Hewes Library website.
  • You will be prompted by a Monmouth College login screen.
  • Enter your MC network username and password.
  • Once logged in, use the resource as if you were on campus.

Questions? Contact Hewes Library

general contact 309-457-2190 Email a librarian: reference@monmouthcollege.edu Call a librarian: 309-457-2301
Hewes Library at Monmouth College | 700 East Broadway, Monmouth, IL 61462 | Phone: 309-457-2190 | Fax: 309-457-2226 | http://library.monmouthcollege.edu | reference@monmouthcollege.edu