Hewes Library: Communication Studies: Background

Reference Sources - Multidisciplinary

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of over 800 reference titles, providing useful definitions, background information, quotations, images, and biographical information.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
The online version of Britannica's encyclopedia, plus thousands of unique online articles, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (10th ed.), the Britannica Book of the Year, and more. Updated daily.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of reference ebooks from Gale covering general reference, biographical sources, and all major disciplines.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The premiere etymological dictionary of the English language. How-to video guides.
PRINT 20 vol. set: Reference Collection PE 1625. N53 1933.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
In-depth, specialized titles from Oxford University Press’s award-winning Encyclopedias and Companions series, and a selection of partner publishers’ scholarly works.
Sage E-Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference titles covering a wide variety of subjects, including the humanities and social sciences.

Communications Reference Sources

Communications Reference Sources - CREDO
Media and Communications encyclopedias, dictionaries, and indexes available on the CREDO online platform. To use: browse the titles and choose the most relevant, or use the SEARCH box at the top of screen to search ALL CREDO resources at once.

Communications and Social Science Reference Sources - IN PRINT

Encyclopedia of communication theory (Reference P87.5 .E499 2009)
Encyclopedia of communication and information (Reference P87.5 .E53 2001)
Encyclopedia of media and communication (Reference P87.5 .E55 2013)
Encyclopedia of rhetoric (Reference PN172.E52 2001)
International encyclopedia of the social sciences (Reference H40.A2 I5 2008)
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (Reference H41 .I58 2001)
Encyclopedia of propaganda (Reference HM263.E53 1998)
Encyclopedia of social theory (Reference HM425.E53 2006)

Encyclopedia of political communication (Reference JA85 .E64 2008)

Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology
An overview of the cross-disciplinary field of industrial and organizational psychology - in the areas of psychology, business, management, and human resources.
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
Entries provide brief, clear, and readable explanations to the vast number of ideas and concepts that make up the intellectual and scientific content in the area of social psychology.
Encyclopedia of Public Relations
The encyclopedia explores key challenges facing the profession of public relations and its practitioners, such as earning the trust and respect of critics and the general public. These volumes go into great depth about such ethical policies and challenges.

Background

Reference Sources

Reference materials are helpful starting places :

Reference Sources - Multidisciplinary

Communications Reference Sources