Skip to Main Content
CLAS/HIST 195: Archaeology Lab
Enter Search Words
Find Books and more!
Books Used in Class
Borrowing from Other Libraries
Background Information Sources
How can background information, found in reference resources, help?
like a definition or fact
Explore context surrounding a topic
- the big picture
- explore the subdivisions and perspectives
Locate additional sources
- in bibliographies
Archaeology and Native Peoples Reference Resources
The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
Call Number: Reference Collection / E77 .G15 1998
Handbook of the North American Indians
Call Number: Reference Collection / E77.H25 1978
v.15 NorthEast volume includes the Great Lakes region
American Indian Culture
Call Number: Reference Collection / E98.S7 A443 2015
Archaeology in America
Call Number: Reference Collection / E159.5 .A68 2009
General Reference Sources
Online collection of over 800 reference titles, providing useful definitions, background information, quotations, images, and biographical information.
Oxford Reference Online
In-depth, specialized titles from Oxford University Press’s award-winning Encyclopedias and Companions series, and a selection of partner publishers’ scholarly works.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
The online version of Britannica's encyclopedia, plus thousands of unique online articles,
Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary
(10th ed.), the
Britannica Book of the Year
, and more. Updated daily.
Collection of reference ebooks from Gale covering general reference, biographical sources, and all major disciplines.
Oxford English Dictionary
The premiere etymological dictionary of the English language.
How-to video guides.
PRINT 20 vol. set: Reference Collection PE 1625. N53 1933.
Reference titles covering a wide variety of subjects, including the humanities and social sciences.
Find Books and more! >>
Aug 2, 2021 5:43 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
Hewes Library at Monmouth College | 700 East Broadway, Monmouth, IL 61462 | Phone: 309-457-2190 | Fax: 309-457-2226 | https://library.monmouthcollege.edu | firstname.lastname@example.org