Skip to main content
Monmouth College Hewes Library

PSYC 101: Home

PSYC 101

Introduction to Research Using PsycInfo

Video 1

This 12 minute video introduces the psychology research database, PsycInfo. Students will be asked to enter their name and email address prior to watching. There are required quiz questions throughout the video to assess comprehension. Students can watch and take the quizzes as many times as they wish.

  • Students will learn how to access the database through the library website.
  • Students will become familiar with basic search fields.
  • Students will be asked 4 quiz questions throughout the video to assess their comprehension.

Students may wish to review all three videos (without the quizzes) on the Hewes Library YouTube playlist.


Video 2 

This 12 minute video introduces the psychology research database, PsycInfo. Students will be asked to enter their name and email address prior to watching. There are required quiz questions throughout the video to assess comprehension. Students can watch and take the quizzes as many times as they wish.

  • Students will recognize differences between an academic research database and Google
  • Students will learn search strategies using synonyms, phrases, and truncation
  • Students will be able to locate and apply subject words to a search
  • Students will be aware of full text and interlibrary loan
  • Students will be asked quiz questions throughout the video to assess their comprehension

Students may wish to review all three videos (without the quizzes) on the Hewes Library YouTube playlist.


Video 3 

This 12 minute video explores additional search strategies using PsycInfo. Students will be asked to enter their name and email address prior to watching. There are required quiz questions throughout the video to assess comprehension. Students can watch and take the quizzes as many times as they wish.

  • Students will explore a research topic in PsycInfo.
  • Students will understand how to utilize limiting features of the database.
  • Students will observe how to review search history and save citations in the database's folder.

Students may wish to review all three videos (without the quizzes) on the Hewes Library YouTube playlist.


Search tips for using PsycInfo database

Have a Question?

chat loading...


or TEXT (309)204-9275
Make an appointment with a librarian

Librarians available Monday - Friday (9AM-12PM, 1:30 - 4:30PM)

Hewes Library at Monmouth College | 700 East Broadway, Monmouth, IL 61462 | Phone: 309-457-2190 | Fax: 309-457-2226 | https://library.monmouthcollege.edu | reference@monmouthcollege.edu