The Hewes Library mission is to support and uphold the liberal arts curriculum and traditions of Monmouth College. The Hewes Library’s charge is to support the information needs of the faculty, staff, students, and members of the community while also encouraging lifelong learning. We seek to teach information literacy skills and support academic honesty. At the same time, Hewes Library is the physical home to a core collection of information materials that have been developed in association with the college faculty and the college’s mission. Hewes Library strives to be a welcoming space for patrons to study, discuss, and learn - both individually and collaboratively, while examining the world of scholarship inside and outside of the library’s walls.
Approved by the Library Staff, November 15, 2007
Our purpose is to support the research and scholarship of Monmouth College students, staff and faculty. We also welcome adult researchers who are not affiliated with the College and offer access for adult members of the general public as a U.S. Government Federal Depository.
This library use policy has been created to protect the rights and safety of all library patrons and for preserving and protecting the library’s materials, equipment, facility and grounds for current and future generations.
In order to accomplish our mission, we ask that all patrons respect the following use guidelines:
Library staff reserve the right to ask any library user in violation of these guidelines or engaged in any disruptive behavior to leave the premises.
Approved by Library Staff, November 15, 2007
The following persons are eligible to check out items from Hewes Library:
Community patrons and non-affiliated users will be issued a Monmouth College barcode. Community patrons and non-affiliated users must present a valid driver’s license when applying for a Monmouth College library card.
Hewes Library and Monmouth College are not responsible for materials checked out or viewed on public terminals by minors.
All library patrons must follow library and college policies.
Circulating materials include books, videos, DVDs, music CDs, oversized items, software, and most government documents. Materials that do not circulate include reference, ready reference, periodicals, course reserves, LP recordings, Special Collections and Archive materials. Despite eligibility, some collections may not be available to check out to all patron groups.
Checking Materials Out
All patrons must present their Monmouth College ID (or Monmouth College barcode) at the Circulation desk, located on the main floor of Hewes Library, when checking items out. At this time the materials will be checked out on the patron’s account and stamped with the due date. Despite eligibility, some collections may not be available to check out to all patron groups.
Loan Period for Community patrons
Loan Period for Students
Loan Period for Faculty & Staff
|Books, software, Government Documents (in print)||30 days||30 days||
|Videocassettes, CDs, DVDs||5 days||5 days||5 days|
|Course Reserves||Not available||2 hours (in-house use only)||See a staff member|
|I-Share materials||Not available||
28 days (3 renewals)
|28 days (6 renewals)|
|Interlibrary Loan materials||Not available||due date determined by lending library||due date determined by lending library|
|All other materials||In-house use only||In-house use only||In-house use only|
An item may be renewed as long as it has not been recalled or had a hold placed on it. A patron can renew an item by:
1. Presenting their Monmouth College barcode in person at the Circulation Desk
2. By calling the Circulation Desk at 309-457-2190
3. By looking up their patron account in the library’s online catalog and selecting the renewal option prior to the item’s due date.
Items can be renewed until they reach the maximum number (3) of renewals. If an item reaches the maximum number, it should be returned to the library to be checked in. Once it has been checked in the patron can check it out again as long as a hold or recall has not been issued for the item.
A recall can be placed on an item once it has been checked out for two weeks. Items that are recalled should be returned to the library within 48 hours of the recall. Recalled items must be returned to the Circulation Desk during library hours. After hours the item should be placed in the outdoor book drop located at the west exit of the library.
Overdue notices are sent as a courtesy to library patrons. The first two notices will remind the patron of the overdue item. The third notice informs the patron a bill will be sent if the item is not returned within two weeks. The fourth notice is a bill for the item.
Fees for lost items are based on national library averages. Students and public patrons will be sent a bill for library materials not returned. Students will have the charges placed on their student account (i.e., Books-$50, Videos-$75). All payments should be made at the Monmouth College Business Office. Items returned after they have been billed to a student’s account, and before the library has replaced the item, will be reimbursed for all but a $10 business office transaction fee. Bills for faculty and staff will be submitted to the Director of the Library for collection.
Library materials can be returned to the book drop at the Circulation Desk during library hours. After hours, materials can be returned to the outside book drop at the west exit of the library.
Patron Claims Item Returned
A patron has the option to fill out a Claims Returned form if they have returned an item but it still appears on their library account. A search for the item will be conducted at various stages. If the item is found it will be checked in and cleared from the patron’s account. If it cannot be found, a decision will be made whether to charge the patron or not. Patrons will be notified of the results of the search and of any fees they may be responsible for.
Items are placed on reserve by faculty for student use through out the semester. Most reserve items are for two hours and cannot leave the library. Reserves are for students and faculty only. Monmouth College barcodes must be presented to check out reserve items. Students can check out up to two reserve items at a time. Students checking out VHS tapes on reserve must leave their ID at the Circulation Desk for the two hour time limit. The student can retrieve their ID once the tape has been returned. Faculty can check out course reserves for an extended period of time.
The library has a fax machine available to students, faculty, and staff. The library will accept faxes for members of the Monmouth College community. All faxes received must have a cover page indicating the recipient of the fax.
The Hewes Library Collection Development Policy details collection development objectives, selection criteria, and collection maintenance. The Gift Policy, which is Appendix D, outlines the acceptance of gifts to the library.
Hewes Library provides access to information for library patrons and we support intellectual freedom and library patrons confidentiality. Hewes Library adheres to the American Library Association's Code of Ethics when it comes to matters of library confidentiality.
Highlighted below are Sections I and III:
The full American Library Association's Code of Ethics can be found listed on their webpage.
Hewes Library offers display and exhibit spaces for use by the campus community, thereby enriching the learning accomplishments of the College and integrating the Library with the mission and life of the campus.
The American Library Association’s recommendations for intellectual freedom in academic libraries clearly states that “Freedom of information and of creative expression should be reflected in library exhibits...” While Hewes Library fosters a forum for the free, civil, and orderly exchange of ideas, values and opinions, in an environment that sustains teaching and learning, we believe this freedom of expression must include a respect for the dignity of others, a recognition of the rights of others to hold differing opinions, and to above all maintain civility at all times.
Any concern about an exhibit in the library must be submitted in writing to the Library Director. At that time, the exhibitor will be provided with the opportunity to respond to the concern. The Director, with the College Administration will respond to all exhibit concerns in writing.
The Exhibit Request form must be submitted to the library one week prior to display. Exhibitors will need to schedule a consultation time with the Archivist before the exhibit can be displayed.
Food and lidded beverage containers are allowed in the Einstein Brothers Bagels dining area located on the main floor of Hewes Library.
Beyond the Einstein’s dining area, small snacks and lidded beverages are permitted provided they are consumed neatly and all remainders are disposed of properly. Library staff reserves the right to prohibit eating or drinking that disturbs users or is detrimental to Library property. Report food or drink spills to the Circulation Desk or Reference Desk promptly.
No food or beverages are allowed in Special Collections.
Approved: August 9, 2012.
Hewes Library Interlibrary Loan Policy
"Each library has a responsibility to make very effort to meet the reading needs of its community. Given the wide range of user needs, this responsibility cannot be met solely by its local collection. Therefore lending materials among libraries for the use of individuals in Illinois is vital to the public interest..." - preface to the Illinois Interlibrary Loan Code 1988
An interlibrary loan (ILL) is a transaction in which library material, or a copy of the material, is made available by one library to another upon request.
Purpose and mission of the Interlibrary Loan Department
It is the mission of the Interlibrary Loan department to locate and acquire, whenever possible, materials not owned by Monmouth College for the educational, research, and general needs of the College community. The ILL department also acts as a resource for materials from our collection to all eligible requesting libraries in an effort to efficiently share resources. Hewes Library's ILL department complies with ALA guidelines, the Illinois Interlibrary Loan Code (2000), the copyright law (Title 17, US Code) and the Alliance Library System (ALS) Interlibrary Loan policy.
Interlibrary Loan: Borrowing
Interlibrary Loan Lending
Audio-Visual Technology Requests
Requests for audio-visual technology (computers, projectors, etc.) should accompany the room request directed to Events Coordinator, Dian Henson at 309.457.2345 or email@example.com. Groups wishing to bring their own technology should check with the Events Coordinator to ensure that it will be compatible with existing Library systems.
In accordance with U.S. copyright law (U.S. Code Title 17, Chapter 1, Section 110 (1)), performances of media such as audio or video, or readings of literary or dramatic works, must be "by instructors or pupils in the course of face-to-face teaching activities." More information can be found at: the U.S. Copyright Office website.
Food & Drink
Concerning Room Reservations, food and drink may be permitted under special circumstances, as approved in advance by Library Director Rick Sayre (x2192, firstname.lastname@example.org).
Cancellations & Damages
If an event is cancelled, the requester must notify the Library as soon as possible. Damages related to the event or attributed to those attending will be charged to the sponsoring organization.
Loss of privileges
Repeated violations or failures to comply with any part of the above policy will result in a loss of reservation privileges.
Hewes Library provides access to the Special Collections after a request has been completed and returned to a senior staff member. The following practices will safeguard the unique materials in the collection for future use. Forms to use Special Collections are available at the Circulation Desk.Special Collections Usage Policy