Skip to main content
Monmouth College Hewes Library

1b. Background Information

Background Information

Finding background information helps develop more complex research questions. Resources like encyclopedias and dictionaries:

  • build a base of knowledge
  • help formulate additional questions to investigate 
  • lead to additional information resources 

Background Information Resources

Online Reference Collections
Search your topic keywords and gather background and contextual information.

Print Reference Sources
Browse the Reference Collection, located on the main floor of Hewes Library, near the call number of your related subject(s)

A General works   PB-PH Modern European Languages
B-BJ Philosophy, Psychology   PG Russian Literature
BL-BX Religion   PJ-PM Languages and Lit of Asia, Africa
C Auxiliary Sciences of History   PN, PR, PS, PZ General Literature
D History: General and Old World     English and American Literature
E-F History: America   PQ, part 1 French Literature
G Geography, Anthropology   PQ, part 2 Italian, Spanish, Portuguese Lit
H Social Science   PT, part 1 German Literature
J Political Science   PT, part 2 Dutch and Scandinavian Lit
KD Law of the United Kingdom/Ireland   Q Science
KF Law of the United States   R Medicine
L Education   S Agriculture
M Music   T Technology
N Fine Arts   U Military Science
P-PA General Philology and Linguistics   V Naval Science
  Classical Languages and Lit   Z Bibliography, Library Science

CREDOCREDO is an online collection of over 800 reference resources, providing definitions, background information, quotations, images, and biographical information. Explore this title list of reference eBooks relating to global issues for background information!

 

Europa World Plus is an online resource providing impartial economic, political and geographical background information for countries and regions of the world.

  • Statistical data and comparison capabilities
  • Impartial coverage of issues of regional importance from experts
  • Bibliographies - direct you to further research
  • Extensive directory of links to external websites
Loading ...

Developing A Topic

This video is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-Share Alike via North Carolina State University (3:10 length). Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q0B3Gjlu-1o&feature=youtu.be.

Hewes Library at Monmouth College | 700 East Broadway, Monmouth, IL 61462 | Phone: 309-457-2190 | Fax: 309-457-2226 | https://library.monmouthcollege.edu | reference@monmouthcollege.edu