These databases index secondary sources, such as scholarly journal articles and books, to help us understand people, culture, philosophy/thought, and historical events.
Primary vs Secondary Sources (Video)
Consider the differences between
Primary & Secondary sources
This video is shared via a Creative Commons license by Hartness Library, Community College of Vermont. (3:17 length).
A full-image (pdf) repository of over 2,600 scholarly journals and 40,000 eBooks in all disciplines. Coverage: varies; some holdings extend back to the 19th century. Search a sub-set of publications on British Studies.
Searches literary criticism indexed by MLA (Modern Languages Association) which includes international scholarly journals, academic books, conference proceedings and dissertations covering literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Coverage: criticism published 1920 to present.
Full-text and fully searchable, the Times Literary Supplement (London) contains a wide variety of contemporary literary reviews. This resource can also be searched, along other resources, within Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: from 1902 - 2014
19 is an open-access, scholarly, refereed web journal dedicated to advancing interdisciplinary study in the long nineteenth century. It is based at Birkbeck College at the University of London.
NINES describes itself as a "(Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship) is a scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first. It aims to gather the best scholarly resources in the field and make them fully searchable and interoperable."
Database Access Off Campus
All of the databases provided by Hewes Library can be accessed from off campus. To do so, follow these directions:
Select the database you wish to access from the Hewes Library website.
You will be prompted by a Monmouth College login screen.
Enter your MC network username and password.
Once logged in, use the resource as if you were on campus.
