Hewes Library: English Language & Literature: Book & Film Reviews

Film Reviews

New York Times Historical (1851-3yr embargo) This link opens in a new window
Full-image and fully searchable access to the New York Times, from its first issue as the New York Daily Times, 1851 until 3 years from the present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database indexing periodicals. Film reviews may be covered in both scholarly and popular periodicals. Coverage: 20th century to present.

Film Literature Index
An index to film, book, and television reviews in over 300 international scholarly and popular periodicals. Note, coverage is not current: 1976-2001.

Film Review Annual
Call Number: Reference: PN1995.F465
Publication Date: 1981-2002
Each volume provides important film reviews in their entirety and lists additional review citations.
Motion Picture Guide
Call Number: Reference: PN1995 .N346 (10 vol set) and PN1995.N3461 (7 vol set)
Encyclopedic set lists every English-speaking motion picture released to theaters from 1927 to 1992. The more than 25,000 entries include plot synopses and ratings.

Book Reviews

Sources of book reviews in Hewes Library databases.

See descriptions for more information. Please note: additional disciplinary databases also may have book reviews in scholarly and popular periodicals.

Choice Reviews Online This link opens in a new window
Choice Academic Reviews for scholarly books and e-resources.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text scholarly articles, critical essays, reviews, and biographies covering literature of all periods and genres. Searches Something About the Author (1971-2020), Contemporary Authors (2003-2014) and select Gale Ebook titles.Tutorial video.
New York Times Historical (1851-3yr embargo) This link opens in a new window
Full-image and fully searchable access to the New York Times, from its first issue as the New York Daily Times, 1851 until 3 years from the present.
Times Literary Supplement Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text and fully searchable, the Times Literary Supplement (London) contains a wide variety of contemporary literary reviews. This resource can also be searched, along other resources, within Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: from 1902 - 2014