Hewes Library: English Language & Literature: Literary Criticism Overview

What is a database?

A database is a collection of citations, indexes, and/or full text for articles that originally appeared in journals, magazines, or newspapers.

Databases differ from catalogs. A catalog indexes books, DVDs, AV materials, music, and more so you can locate a record and then locate the item. Catalogs do not have full text articles.

Database Access Off Campus

All of the databases provided by Hewes Library can be accessed from off campus. To do so, follow these directions:

Select the database you wish to access from the Hewes Library website.
You will be prompted by a Monmouth College login screen.
Enter your MC network username and password.
Once logged in, use the resource as if you were on campus.

Literary Criticism Databases

Databases

Recommended databases for language and literature research

Read explanatory notes for each resource to evaluate the effectiveness for your topic.
EBSCO platform databases can be searched simultaneously; see how.
The library catalog should also be searched for books containing literary analysis.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Searches literary criticism indexed by MLA (Modern Languages Association) which includes international scholarly journals, academic books, conference proceedings and dissertations covering literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Coverage: criticism published 1920 to present.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text scholarly articles, critical essays, reviews, and biographies covering literature of all periods and genres. Searches Something About the Author (1971-2020), Contemporary Authors (2003-2014) and select Gale Ebook titles.Tutorial video.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-image (pdf) repository of over 2,600 scholarly journals and 48,000 eBooks in all disciplines. Coverage: varies; some holdings extend back to the 19th century.
Gale Literary Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes all Gale series on literary criticism and biography, such as Contemporary Literary Criticism, Contemporary Authors, and Something about the Author, and many others. Provides citation only.
Something About the Author This link opens in a new window
A biographical and critical source on the lives and works of authors and illustrators of children's and young adult books. Searched within the large ebook database Gale Literature. Coverage: v.1 (1971) - v. 356 (2020).
Times Literary Supplement Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text and fully searchable, the Times Literary Supplement (London) contains a wide variety of contemporary literary reviews. This resource can also be searched, along other resources, within Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: from 1902 - 2014

Literary Criticism Overview

Literary Criticism

Locate literary criticism by searching the databases listed below.

For more information on tools for locating literary criticism, see "MLA Bibliography" and "Gale Literature" help pages under "Literary Criticism" tab above.

What is a database?

Database Access Off Campus

Literary Criticism Databases

Recommended databases for language and literature research