Hewes Library: Law Guide: Home

My Accounts

309-457-2190

Popular databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database indexing 17,000+ periodicals and publications; over 8,700 titles are full-text and over 7,600 are peer-reviewed. Coverage: 20th century to present. EBSCO platform.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window A full-image (pdf) repository of over 2,600 scholarly journals and 48,000 eBooks in all disciplines. Coverage: varies; some holdings extend back to the 19th century.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Indexes the contents from peer-reviewed journals, book chapters, dissertations, and reports in psychology and related disciplines. Coverage from the early 1800's to the present. NOTE: Includes full-text articles from PsycArticles and links to PsycTests. More information (pdf).

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of over 800 reference titles, providing useful definitions, background information, quotations, images, and biographical information.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
The online version of Britannica's encyclopedia, plus thousands of unique online articles, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (10th ed.), the Britannica Book of the Year, and more. Updated daily.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
In-depth, specialized titles from Oxford University Press’s award-winning Encyclopedias and Companions series, and a selection of partner publishers’ scholarly works.
Sage E-Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference titles covering a wide variety of subjects, including the humanities and social sciences.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of reference ebooks from Gale covering general reference, biographical sources, and all major disciplines.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The premiere etymological dictionary of the English language. How-to video guides.
PRINT 20 vol. set: Reference Collection PE 1625. N53 1933.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 15,000 business, legal, and news sources (national and international) including The New York Times. U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Learn more.
Proquest U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to Chicago Tribune, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, and the Los Angeles Times from the mid-1980s to present. Includes articles from both print and online editions.

New York Times

New York Times (1980-present)
Full-text access to the New York Times via Nexis Uni database.

New York Times Historical (1851-3yr embargo) This link opens in a new window
Full-image access to the New York Times via ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

News Guides

Guide to news resources in Hewes Library
News resources available through Hewes Library
Evaluating information resources
Learn more about spotting fake news and finding reliable sources