Background Info

Language & Linguistics
(also browse Reference call number PA)

The Classic Greek dictionary. Greek-English and English-Greek (Reference PA445.E5 C55 1934)
Greek-English lexicon & supplement (Reference PA445.E5 L6 1953)
Etymological dictionary of Latin (Reference PA2342.T8 1985)
A Dictionary of Latin words and phrases (Upper Level Books PA2365.E5 M667 1998)
Cassell's new Latin dictionary. Latin-English, English-Latin (Reference PA2365.L3 C3 1960)
 

Mythology, Religion, History
(also browse Reference call numbers BL, DE, DF, DG)

Women of classical mythology (Reference BL715 .B445 1991)
The Oxford dictionary of classical myth and religion (Reference BL715.O845 2003)
Early Greek myth: a guide to literary and artistic sources (Upper Level Books BL782.G34 1993)
The Oxford classical dictionary (Reference DE5 .O9 2012)
The Oxford encyclopedia of ancient Greece and Rome (Reference DE5 .O95 2010)
The Classical tradition (Reference DE60 .C55 2010)

Literature and Art 

The Grove encyclopedia of classical art and architecture (Reference N5610 .G76 2007)
The Oxford guide to classical mythology in the arts, 1300-1990s (Reference NX650.M9 R45 1993)
**Classical and medieval literature criticism (Literary Criticism, Main Level PN681.5.C57)
           **For more information on using this resource, see box at right -->

What does this resource contain?

• A collection of scholarly excerpts about an author or literary work. These works were published elsewhere, and relevant excerpts are published in this resource.
• Items in this series cover only authors who wrote before 1400 (and any criticism written afterwards)

Why should I use this resource? It makes it easy to find a variety of criticism in one place. Use this resource to help understand the context and background of a source or author, and locate additional critical sources. 

How do I use this resource?  There are two points of access: 

1. ONLINE: Search the online Literary Index to find a citation (link below). This resource will retrieve citations for the author or literary work and tell you what volume(s) in the series to look at next. Here is a sample citation.

2. PRINT: You may also search the print series Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism (found in the Literary Criticism, Main Level, PN681.5 .C57)

• Find the last volume of the series
• Search for author or title in the respective index at the back of the volume
• Here is a sample citation.  The codes represent a series title.  For example: CMLC is Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism

How do I cite this resource?

Cite the original source (such as the original journal article or book chapter) as usual, and add the reference source information at the end.

Here's an example in MLA citation style (8th edition). See pages 31-38 of the 8th edition for additional examples:

Buck, Philo M. "The Mystery of Laughter-Aristophanes." The Golden Thread, Macmillan, 1931. 104-26. Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, edited by Jelena Krstovic, vol. 4, Gale, 1990, pp.86-92.