Locate scholarly resources in Classics using research databases explained in detail below.
These resources may help identify primary source texts and criticism of texts in secondary sources (such as book reviews and scholarly journal articles).
A full-image repository of over 2,600 scholarly journals and 25,000 eBooks covering all disciplines, including core journals in Classical Studies. Browse a LIST of CLASSICAL journals indexed in JSTOR. To LIMIT a search to only classics journals, scroll down the Advanced Search screen and select "Classical Studies" under JOURNAL FILTER.
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database indexing 17,000+ periodicals and publications; over 8,700 titles are full-text and over 7,600 are peer-reviewed. Coverage: 20th century to present. EBSCO platform.
[OPEN ACCESS] Searchable full-text of scholarly book reviews in the field of classical studies (including archaeology) as published in the scholarly journal Bryn Mawr Classical Review, 1990 to the present.
Scholarly journal published by the Classical Association of the Middle West and South (CAMWS), it contains academic articles, book reviews, and lists of books recently published.
HOW TO SEARCH:
1. Browse reviews published in the journal 2007-2013
2. Search contents of journal via JSTOR (1905 - present). Obtain the FULL-TEXT of articles for years 1905 until 3 years before current year via JSTOR
3. Access 1908-present print in Hewes Library (current year on main level; older years in the lower level).
[OPEN ACCESS] Indexes citations (not the full-text) from an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields from the Paleolithic to the end of the Geometric period. Coverage: items published 1959-present.
[OPEN ACCESS] Index of the tables of contents of scholarly Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals (and some Festschriften). Where possible, links are given to full-text or abstracts of articles (about 15%). Coverage: items published since 1992. Key to journal title abbreviations To obtain items located in this database:
[OPEN ACCESS] Indexes citations (not the full-text) for materials held in the libraries of the German Archaeological Institute: journals, books, Festschriften, and conference proceedings (approx. 400,000 titles) covering Greek and Roman material culture, history, epigraphy, and numismatics. To obtain items located in this database:
