Hewes Library: Business, Political Economy, Commerce: Reference

Reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of over 800 reference titles, providing useful definitions, background information, quotations, images, and biographical information.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
The online version of Britannica's encyclopedia, plus thousands of unique online articles, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (10th ed.), the Britannica Book of the Year, and more. Updated daily.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of reference ebooks from Gale covering general reference, biographical sources, and all major disciplines.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
In-depth, specialized titles from Oxford University Press’s award-winning Encyclopedias and Companions series, and a selection of partner publishers’ scholarly works.
Sage E-Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference titles covering a wide variety of subjects, including the humanities and social sciences.

Business Reference Search: Gale Virtual Reference
Search over 30 business sources at once, including International Directory of Company Histories (through 2014), Business Plans Handbook, and Encyclopedia of Global Brands.

International Directory of Company Histories (print and online)
Includes more than 11,000 influential and emerging companies worldwide, comprehensive background and history of a company, merger and acquisition activity over time, impact of particular sales and marketing campaigns, and effectiveness of executive leadership.In print through June 2018 (Reference HD2721.I63 1988) and online (through 2014).

American Heritage Dictionary of Business Terms (print)
Look up business/finance terminology
Encyclopedia of American Business (print)
"Focuses on the terms, concepts, and associations that one is most likely to encounter in business."
Patterns of economic change by state and area : income, employment, & gross domestic product (print)
Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy (online)
Gather background information for topics in international trade, finance, production, and economic development. Each entry includes cross-references and a list of sources for further reading.