Skip to main content
Monmouth College Hewes Library

Articles

Find Journal Articles

Periodical databases can inform your research question by providing:

  • many types of sources, including scholarly journal articles, popular periodical articles, books, papers and documents
  • detailed scholarly journal articles reporting on specific research
  • additional sources through article bibliographies

Tip: Get the Item!

Learn more about how to get an article, in full-text, on the "Get the Item!" tab above.

Types of Periodicals

Scholarly Periodicals

Also known as academic, refereed, or peer-reviewed journals.

Author/Authority: Articles written by researchers or scholars in the field who report the results of original research. Other scholars evaluate the research before publication to assure its accuracy, called "peer-review."

Appearance: Generally have a sober, serious look. May contain graphs and charts, but few glossy pages or photographs. Use scholarly language with vocabulary specific to their profession or field.

Audience: Written for academics and professionals.

Citations: Articles include footnotes and a list of citations at the end of the article.

Content: Includes scholarly research for a particular profession or industry.

Frequency: Usually published bimonthly or quarterly.

Examples:

         

Popular Periodicals

Appearance: Generally attractive and illustrated with color photographs.

Audience: Written for the general public.

Author/Authority: Articles written by staff or freelance writer.

Content: Includes current events and special features.

Frequency: Usually published weekly or monthly.

Examples:

         

Trade Periodicals

Also known as industry magazines.

 

Appearance: Generally attractive and are often illustrated with color photographs.

Audience: Written for industry professionals.

Author/Authority: Articles written by staff writers, may sometimes accept articles from industry professionals. Not peer-reviewed.

Citations: Occasionally list references at the end of the article or provide footnotes within the text.

Content: Include current events, trends, and news within a particular profession or industry.

Frequency: Usually published biweekly or monthly.

Examples:

         

News/Newspaper

Appearance: Generally printed on newsprint in black ink.

Audience: Written for the general public.

Author/Authority: Articles written by staff writers and freelance journalists.

Citations: Will sometimes cite sources, a scholar, or a freelance writer.

Content: Includes current events and special features.

Frequency: Usually published daily or weekly.

Examples:

    

Used with permission of Harris Learning Library (3:51 length). Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z6DI7ZiGkVQ&feature=youtu.be.

Used with permission of Kishwaukee College Library (5:10 length).  Retrieved from https://youtu.be/EEVftUdfKtQ.

Databases: Find Periodical Articles

Databases relating to research in global perspectives
Have a multidisciplinary topic or not sure which database to choose? Select a SUBJECT term that relates to your topic and a explore list of library databases within that discipline.



Suggested Multi-Disciplinary Databases for Global Studies

Alphabetical List of all Hewes Library Database Resources

Hewes Library at Monmouth College | 700 East Broadway, Monmouth, IL 61462 | Phone: 309-457-2190 | Fax: 309-457-2226 | https://library.monmouthcollege.edu | reference@monmouthcollege.edu