Skip to main content
Monmouth College Hewes Library

Get the Item!

Articles: Obtain Full Text

Obtaining Full Text of Journal Articles

Step One: If a Hewes Library database does NOT have the full text immediately available, use the "Find this item" button to search ALL Hewes Library full text resources. When you click the button, a new page will open, and show full text results, if any.    find this item button

 

Step Two: If the Article Linker does not lead to full text, you may enter the citation information into an interlibrary loan request form.  The article will be requested from another library and emailed to you within a few days.

Tip:

Search Periodicals A-Z on the library's homepage by title of a journal, magazine, newspaper or other periodical to view if there is access in print or full-text. This is helpful when citations are located in a bibliography or source other than a database.periodicals A-Z tab

Finding Books Using Library Catalogs

As a Monmouth College patron, you have access to three tiers of library catalogs. 

Step 1: Hewes Library Catalog

  • Locate books, DVDs, media, software, music owned in Hewes Library
  • Catalog does NOT contain articles
  • Items are immediately available to you
  • Advanced search available

 

Step 2: I-Share Catalog

  • Locate books and media owned in Illinois academic libraries
  • To request an item first create a library account
  • Materials are delivered to Hewes Library in 3-5 days
  • Once you register, remember to monitor your library account! The transactions you make with I-Share libraries are not monitored by Hewes Library.
  • I-Share FAQ

 

Step 3: WorldCat

  • A larger, international library catalog, WorldCat, allows identification of materials beyond the Hewes Library and the I-Share Catalog. (Be sure to check these catalogs first.)
  • Materials identified in WorldCat may be requested using interlibrary loan.
  • Items may take 7-14 days to arrive. 
Hewes Library at Monmouth College | 700 East Broadway, Monmouth, IL 61462 | Phone: 309-457-2190 | Fax: 309-457-2226 | https://library.monmouthcollege.edu | reference@monmouthcollege.edu