Skip to Main Content
Monmouth College Hewes Library

Books & Media

Find Books

Books inform your research question by providing:

  • contextual background information
  • detailed scholarly research to strengthen your research
  • bibliographies that may lead to additional sources

Find Books Using Library Catalogs

As a Monmouth College patron, you have access to three tiers of library catalogs. 

 

Hewes Library Catalog

  • Locate physical books, DVDs and media owned by Hewes Library; select Ebooks included
  • Materials may be print or digital and are immediately available on campus

Search for books, ebooks, dvds, and documents in Hewes Library

 

I-Share Catalog

  • Locate and borrow books owned in other Illinois academic libraries
  • To request an item first login to the library catalog. Learn more about requesting materials via I-Share.
  • Materials are delivered to Hewes Library in 3-5 days *NOTE: COVID-19 quarantines will cause an added 1 day delay.*

WorldCat

  • A larger, international library catalog, WorldCat, allows identification of materials beyond the Hewes Library and the I-Share Catalog. (Be sure to check these catalogs first.)
  • Materials identified in WorldCat may be requested using WorldShare.
  • Items may take 7-14 days to arrive. *NOTE: COVID-19 quarantines will cause an added 1 day delay.*

Additional Catalogs

CARLI eBook Collection: The CARLI eBook Collection consists of 29,000+ titles available instantly to patrons.  The collection is funded by the Consortium of Academic & Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI), of which Hewes Library is a governing member.  MC patrons will find the ebook records in both the Hewes Library Catalog and the I-Share Catalog.  MC users will be prompted to authenticate using your MC network username/password the first time an EBL eBook record is selected. 

Center for Research Libraries: CRL, located in Chicago, has over five million volumes in its collection and will make extended loans of materials for research projects (4 month loan periods and generous renewals). CRL is a cooperative venture of over 200 U.S. & Canadian college and university libraries to acquire expensive and unique collections for faculty and student research. Foreign language books, journals and newspapers make up a significant percentage of the collection. CRL owns over 800,000 foreign dissertations. Much of the collection is represented in WorldCat, but not all. 

Warren County Public Library: materials from the public library in Monmouth and its three branch locations.

Catalog Search Tips

  • Keyword Search, default, searches all words in all fields.
  • Advanced Search is located below the main search box and allows more complex searches and multiple filters.
  • For a more specific search, choose Title, Author or Subject.
  • A Subject search focuses on just the Topic (or Subject) field. 

  • On the results screen, Narrow Your Search facets allow limits by format, collection, topic and more.

 

Contact Hewes Library

Information

309-457-2190
      Email us: ill@monmouthcollege.edu
Hewes Library at Monmouth College | 700 East Broadway, Monmouth, IL 61462 | Phone: 309-457-2190 | Fax: 309-457-2226 | https://library.monmouthcollege.edu | reference@monmouthcollege.edu