Hewes Library: Political Science: Primary Sources

Primary Sources: United States

Milestone Documents in American History
Call Number: Online and Print
"in-depth, analytical essays illuminating famous primary source documents from U.S and world history"

The Declaration of Independence in historical context : American state papers, petitions, proclamations, and letters of the delegates to the First National Congresses.
Reference Collection: HQ1410.U49 H85 1993

The emergence of modern America (1874-1917)
Reference Collection: E661 .E447 2014

U.S. Government resources and documents; See U.S. Government TAB on this guide

Newspapers and other news sources, current and historical; see News TAB on this guide.

Statistical sources, U.S. and international; see Statistics TAB on this guide.

Databases of Primary Sources

Primary Sources: International

World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to global development data compiled from member countries. Search by keyword, or browse by country or indicator (education, poverty, trade).
Bibliography of Data-Related Literature
"ICPSR Bibliography of Data-related Literature is a continuously-updated database of thousands of citations of works using data held in the ICPSR archive. The works include journal articles, books, book chapters, government and agency reports, working papers, dissertations, conference papers, meeting presentations, unpublished manuscripts, magazine and newspaper articles, and audiovisual materials." More about this resources and how to search and a subject term thesaurus.
Yale Institute for Social & Policy Studies KnowledgeBase
"The ISPS KnowledgeBase is the gateway to ISPS produced data, projects, and publications." Allows browsing by a set of variables. Results may link to citations and/or full text of data/publications.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) eLibrary
An index to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. Hewes Library does not have a subscription to see full text, however, some may be available via interlibrary loan, in other published studies, or free online. Provides bibliography of material citing IMF study.

Newspapers and other news sources, current and historical; see News TAB on this guide.

Statistical sources, U.S. and international; see Statistics TAB on this guide.