Hewes Library: Philosophy & Religious Studies: Scholarly Resources

Research Resources

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
An index covering scholarly research from journals and book chapters published in the field of philosophy. Coverage: since 1940.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-image (pdf) repository of over 2,600 scholarly journals and 48,000 eBooks in all disciplines. Coverage: varies; some holdings extend back to the 19th century.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database indexing 17,000+ periodicals and publications; over 8,700 titles are full-text and over 7,600 are peer-reviewed. Coverage: 20th century to present. EBSCO platform.
ATLA Historical Monographs (years 1200-1893) This link opens in a new window
Searches the full text of more than 15,000 books, including volumes in English, Arabic, Greek, and Hebrew. Both ATLA collections can be searched simultaneously: select one of the databases, locate “Choose Databases” at the top of the search screen, and select additional databases to search concurrently. Complete collection description. Coverage: 1200 - 1893 World Parliament of Religions.
ATLA Historical Monographs (years 1894-1923) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of over 15,000 books presenting a picture of religion in America at the turn of the century. Both ATLA collections can be searched simultaneously: select one of the databases, locate the “Choose Databases” at the top of the search screen, and select additional databases to search concurrently. Complete collection description. Coverage 1894-1923.

Classical Philosophy Resources

Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
A digital library of classical texts, including literature, poetry, history, travel, philosophy, and oratory, published with the original Greek/Latin text on the left and the English translation on the right. Browse by author and title.

Bryn Mawr Classical Review
[OPEN ACCESS] A website providing full-text scholarly book reviews of current scholarship in the field of classical studies (including archaeology). This site is the authoritative archive of Bryn Mawr Classical Review from 1990 to the present.
The Classical Journal
Scholarly journal published by the Classical Association of the Middle West and South (CAMWS), it contains academic articles, book reviews, and lists of books recently published.
HOW TO SEARCH:
1. Browse reviews published in the journal 2007-2013
2. Search contents of journal via JSTOR (1905 - present). Obtain the FULL-TEXT of articles for years 1905 until 3 years before current year via JSTOR
3. Access 1908-present print in Hewes Library (current year on main level; older years in the lower level).
Nestor
[OPEN ACCESS] Indexes citations (not the full-text) from an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields from the Paleolithic to the end of the Geometric period. Coverage: items published 1959-present.
TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
[OPEN ACCESS] Index of the tables of contents of scholarly Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals (and some Festschriften). Where possible, links are given to full-text or abstracts of articles (about 15%). Coverage: items published since 1992. Key to journal title abbreviations
To obtain items located in this database:
more...less...
1) Books: search the library catalog, I-Share catalog, and finally submit an interlibrary loan request.

2) Articles: search Periodicals A-Z for full text. If not available, submit an interlibrary loan request (via ILLiad).

Search Tips

Be sure to check out the "Search Tips" tab above to structure the best possible searches.

Additional Databases

Databases that index journals, magazines and newspapers in a other disciplines may also be of use. See a list of databases organized by discipline below.

Contact Hewes Library

Information

309-457-2190

Scholarly Resources

Locate scholarly resources using research databases explained in detail below.