Hewes Library: Philosophy & Religious Studies: Book Reviews

General Book Review Sources

Choice Reviews Online This link opens in a new window
Choice Academic Reviews for scholarly books and e-resources.
Times Literary Supplement Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text and fully searchable, the Times Literary Supplement (London) contains a wide variety of contemporary literary reviews. This resource can also be searched, along other resources, within Gale Primary Sources. Coverage: from 1902 - 2014
New York Times Historical (1851-3yr embargo) This link opens in a new window
Full-image and fully searchable access to the New York Times, from its first issue as the New York Daily Times, 1851 until 3 years from the present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database indexing 17,000+ periodicals and publications; over 8,700 titles are full-text and over 7,600 are peer-reviewed. Coverage: 20th century to present. EBSCO platform.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A full-image (pdf) repository of over 2,600 scholarly journals and 48,000 eBooks in all disciplines. Coverage: varies; some holdings extend back to the 19th century.

Databases that index journals, magazines and newspapers in a particular discipline may also contain book reviews. See a list of databases organized by discipline below.

Classics Book Reviews

Below are book review sources specific to the Philosophy & Religious Studies discipline. General book review resources are listed on the left.

Recommended

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
An index covering scholarly research from journals and book chapters published in the field of philosophy. Coverage: since 1940.

Additional Online Resources

Bryn Mawr Classical Review
[OPEN ACCESS] A website providing full-text scholarly book reviews of current scholarship in the field of classical studies (including archaeology). This site is the authoritative archive of Bryn Mawr Classical Review from 1990 to the present.
The Classical Journal
Scholarly journal published by the Classical Association of the Middle West and South (CAMWS), it contains academic articles, book reviews, and lists of books recently published.
HOW TO SEARCH:
1. Browse reviews published in the journal 2007-2013
2. Search contents of journal via JSTOR (1905 - present). Obtain the FULL-TEXT of articles for years 1905 until 3 years before current year via JSTOR
3. Access 1908-present print in Hewes Library (current year on main level; older years in the lower level).
Reading Religion
"Reading Religion (RR) is an open book review website published by the American Academy of Religion (AAR). The site provides up-to-date coverage of scholarly publishing in religious studies, reviewed by scholars with special interest and/or expertise in the relevant subfields."
Theological Librarianship
"An open access journal publishing essays, critical reviews, and peer-reviewed articles on various aspects of theological librarianship and its contribution to theological education."
Religious Studies Review
"Religious Studies Review is Rice University's quarterly review of publications across the whole field of religious studies and in related disciplines. RSR reviews over 1,000 titles annually in review essays and critical notes."
Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews
An open source journal started in 2002. "Devoted to publishing substantive, high-quality book reviews (normal length: 1500-2500 words). Reviews continually appear, usually five to twelve in the course of each week. "
Philosophy in Review
"An open access, specialist book review journal in philosophy, published six times a year. Covers all areas of and approaches to philosophy."

Book Reviews

Book reviews provide critical information about the content of a book and can save a researcher valuable time in making initial resource selection. Reviews can be found in popular, trade, scholarly and news resources.

General Book Review Sources

Classics Book Reviews