MC Archives

The MC Archives are, like most archival collections, a closed collection.  After searching the Library Catalog for the items you wish to use, you must request those materials using the MC Archives Request Form (see above).  The Catalog will give information on the location and size of each collection.  Please fill out the form and return it to the library information desk.  Your items will be retrieved from the Archives and you may return at a later time to use them. 

If you are visiting from off campus, please contact the Library ahead of time to arrange a viewing time. 

If you are requesting items for the first time, we ask that you complete a Researcher Registration form (see above).

The following rules and regulations apply when examining any collection from the Archives:

• Coats, briefcases, backpacks, parcels, and personal books are not permitted in the research area.  Please leave them at the Circulation or Research Desk.
• No ink of any kind may be used in the research area; use pencil only.
• Eating and drinking are prohibited in the research area.
• All archival materials must be handled carefully. Please wash your hands before touching the materials.  Use only one folder at a time and keep the papers in their existing order with place markers provided.  Do not place books or volumes face down.  Do not lean or press on any materials. Do not trace maps or other records. No "post-it" notes may be used.  Gloves (provided) must be worn when handling photographs.
• Items from the Archives may not be removed from the research area.
• Persons requesting access to restricted materials must contact the person or agency imposing the restrictions.  The Archives cannot permit access to these materials without written authority.
• Copyright: All copyright regulations apply. Researchers are advised that it is their responsibility, not that of the Archives, to obtain copyright clearance to publish or otherwise reproduce or distribute archival material.  Whenever possible, the archivist will provide the names and addresser of copyright holders.
• Photographic duplication: Please see a library supervisor.
• Photocopying: Due to the fragile nature of many Archive materials please address photocopying needs with a library supervisor.  Receipt of photocopies does not imply that permission to publish is granted.  The library reserves the right to restrict duplication.